Built in 1857, Edinburgh Square Heritage & Cultural Centre, formerly the Caledonia Town Hall and Lock-Up, was designed by noted architect John Turner. Edinburgh Square Heritage & Cultural Centre presents the history of Caledonia through educational and outreach activities and a number of permanent & temporary exhibits. Of particular note is the original 1857 jail cell and a permanent display highlighting the gypsum mining industry along the Grand River. Local history or family genealogy may be researched in the Gillespie Clark Reference Library. The library contains books, files and documents relating to Caledonia’s rich history. The archive holds a collection of surviving editions of the Grand River Sachem from 1856 to the present day.
Overlooking the Grand River, under a canopy of majestic oak trees in the Courthouse Park, the Haldimand County Museum and Archives preserves and presents Haldimand’s rich and diverse heritage for the public. Our gallery offers something fascinating and new, with ever-changing historical exhibits.
Also on-site is an authentic log cabin, dating to 1835. Originally located on the Old Plank Road near Caledonia, the cabin was once home to the Nicholas Family, early settlers to the area. Now the building is a perfect setting for interpreting the struggles and rewards of pioneer life. The archives are a valuable resource for researchers and hobbyists alike, with an extensive collection of family histories, local histories, newspapers, church records, cemetery transcripts, census records, some birth, marriage and death records, and much more. Microfiche/microfilm readers and Internet access are available to visitors to maximize the response to their research queries. If unable to visit, museum staff can be hired to do the research! Special events and programs are held year-round at the museum, making it an ideal destination for family outings whether traveling from near or far. Contact the museum for more details. And finally, the beautiful grounds make a lovely spot for a picnic, complete with picnic tables and scenic surroundings. We hope to see you soon!
The museum is dedicated to preserving the history of rural education, the heritage of the surrounding community, and the memory of poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald. Step into a classroom of 1925… when the Union Jack waved over the schoolhouse… classes started with “God Save the King”… and penmanship was practiced using straight pens and black ink. Lyric poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald (1880 – 1967) was born in nearby Cheapside and published works, including “Out of the Wilderness”, and a “Flagon of Beauty.”