The Art Gallery of Algoma (AGA) is a public gallery dedicated to cultivating and advancing the awareness of visual arts in Sault Ste. Marie and Algoma district. The AGA’s commitment to excellence is reflected in all aspects of its programming. Approximately 20 exhibtions are mounted each year featuring local, national and international artists. The AGA also boasts an ever-growing permanent collection of 5000 works of art, including original paintings of the Group of Seven. The AGA offers art classes, workshops, films, exhibition tours, school visits and other programming for all age groups. For truly inspired gift ideas, the Gallery Shop is the best place to find a good selection of the Group of Seven items, and unique gifts made mostly by local artists and crafts people. Gallery Cafe offers visitors coffee, tea, soft drinks, ice cream and light snacks. It features a beautiful view of the St. Mary’s river, Sault Michigan and the International Bridge.
The Chimczuk Museum is a premier museum destination that houses permanent exhibits on the history of the Windsor area, the Original People’s Culture and Legacy, and the development of The City of Windsor. The site also features a state-of-the-art Children’s Gallery and Learning Space with opportunities for hands-on exploration for our young and young at heart, two galleries for travelling and temporary exhibitions, and a gift shop with fantastic souvenirs for guests of all ages.
Fieldcote is a cultural heritage centre with an emphasis on the collection, preservation and exhibition of local history, the promotion of fine arts and the celebration of natural heritage through beautiful landscaped gardens and walking trails. Adult workshops and children’s activities are available upon request. The site offers rotating exhibitions featuring art and history, a summer concert series, award-winning pesticide-free gardens and a meeting place for local garden, historical and cultural groups.
Bicentennial 1812 Exhibit: Noose, Knife and Fire: The Bloody Assize
Saturday, March 3, 2012 to Monday, September 1, 2014
“You are to be drawn on Hurdles to place of execution, hanged by the neck but not until dead, cut down while alive and your entrails taken out and burnt before your faces, your heads cut off, bodies divided into four quarters, heads and quarters to be at the King’s disposal.” This exhibit explores Ancaster’s experience during the War of 1812, highlighting the Bloody Assize. Against the backdrop of the re-created courtroom of the former Union Hotel, view giant paintings of the prosecutors and accused, explore the evidence and judge for yourself. Discover the impact of the war on local farmers and residents, amidst the surroundings of an 1812 barn interior.
Great Canadian Theatre Company
To foster, produce and promote excellent theatre that provokes examination of Canadian life and our place in the world.
GCTC Company Profile
GCTC’s legal name is Great Canadian Theatre Corporation and it is a federally incorporated not-for-profit corporation set up to deliver programs for the benefit of the public good. GCTC is also a registered charity (119235836 RR0001) which allows the company to issue tax receipts for donations.
Great Canadian Theatre Company has successfully produced professional contemporary English-language theatre in Ottawa since 1975. Our mandate to produce theatre that examines “Canadian life and our place in the world” provides a different perspective and makes us unique in our City. With over 84 world premieres, GCTC is one of the key theatre companies in Canada, presenting new and established work to approximately 10,000 single-ticket purchasers and 2800 subscribers in 2013-2014. GCTC has a strong role to play in advancing Canadian theatre and the creation of Canadian plays that couple a rich narrative with socio-political resonance. We are the only company in Ottawa that is mandated to produce the stories that emerge from our national landscape.
Witness the social and mechanical life of Canada’s early industrial revolution. Housed in Hamilton’s first Waterworks, this National Historic Site preserves two 70-ton steam engines, perhaps the oldest surviving Canadian-built engines.
Meaford Hall Arts & Cultural Centre, located in historic downtown Meaford, is a beautifully restored and renovated century old landmark. Formerly known as the Opera House, Meaford Hall is just a stone’s throw from Georgian Bay and adjacent to all amenities in an area well-known for its year-round attractions. As a four season venue, Meaford Hall plays host to a variety of events including live theatre, music, films, dance and entertainment as well as community, corporate and social events. The newly-restored Meaford Hall has state-of-the-art staging, an intimate Edwardian Opera House with theatre balcony, two large light-filled gallery/reception halls, meeting room with landscaped terrace, a boardroom and full kitchen and bar facilities. The brand new east wing houses the Box Office, elevator, coat check, dressing rooms and an expanded Green Room. An art gallery features a rotation of exhibitions throughout the year. Stop by and have a look, perhaps buy a painting to pick up later!
Myrtleville House is a charming early 19th century homestead in Brantford, Ontario. The house tells the story of four generations of the Good family and their remarkable influence on politics, and agriculture in Southern Ontario.
Explore the history of the famous city in a beautifully renovated and expanded building by Moriyama and Teshima Architects. There are three large gallery spaces, gift shop, theatre/multi-purpose room, and research room all fully accessible. -Gale Family War of 1812 Gallery- A gallery dedicated to the history of the War of 1812 and the impact of the War on the citizens of Niagara Falls. Visitors will explore the history that changed a nation in vivid colour; with images, artifacts, videos and hands-on experiences meant to put you in the action. -Niagara Falls Community Gallery- Visitors will be immersed in the history of the City, from geological creation of our famous landmark to the daredevils and the stories of the people who made our city. Three interactive stations in this gallery allow visitors young and old to touch Mother Nature, span the gorge and become a daredevil.
The Oshawa Museum (OM) preserves and promotes awareness and appreciation of Oshawa’s history for the education, enrichment and enjoyment of a diverse audience. As the only community museum in Oshawa we take great pride in showcasing the history of our city from the earliest First Nation occupation to the end of WWII. The OM is administered by the Oshawa Historical Society, a not for profit charitable institution, as an external agency of the City of Oshawa. Henry House was the first of the three homes to be restored by the Oshawa Historical Society and was opened as Henry House Museum in 1960. Since then the Museum has grown to include Robinson House (added in 1969) and Guy House (added in 1985). Exhibits include a restores Victorian Era home, a 19th century schoolhouse, and archaeology in Oshawa. We also feature rotating exhibits, so there is something new to look forward to with each visit! We are open year round, and tours are available: July /August Monday – Friday 9am – 4 pm Saturday and Sunday 12pm-4pm September-June Tuesday to Friday 9am – 4pm Sunday 12pm – 4pm Closed Saturdays
Ridge House Museum has been described as “one of the finest preserved examples of a wood framed, wood sided Gothic Revival house built during the mid-to-late 1800s in the province of Ontario”. The Ridgetown Rotary Club turned the 1875 private home into a small house Museum as their Centennial project. Authentic period furnishings were, in most cases, donated by local families. The Museum is open from the first day of spring to the first day of autumn and from 1st to 23rd December. Hours 1.00pm to 5.00pm daily. Admission is by donation.
Located in the heart of historic Pickering Village, the St. Francis Centre is the Town of Ajax’s centre for arts, culture and heritage. Formerly a church, the 140 year-old heritage building underwent numerous renovations to be transformmed into a multi-purpose arts centre. The building features a stage and retractable multi-level seating for 150 people, and it can be easily converted from a performance venue to a multi-purpose programming space. Dressing rooms, a catering kitchen and a service bar complete the facility. Whether you’re looking to experience live theatre, or for a venue to host your next event or conference, St. Francis is a unique landmark in Ajax!
We are a public art gallery just off the waterfront trail in Whitby. Come explore our world-class exhibitions – it’s always FREE to visit. Cool your heels on our patio, sign up for our family art days. We’re open 7 days a week (except for stat holidays). Weekdays 10 – 4:30 pm – Thursdays ’til 9 pm Weekends noon ’til 4 pm There’s room for a few bikes on-site and oodles more just across the parking lot at Iroquois Sports Arena. See you soon
The McMichael Canadian Art Collection offers its visitors a unique experience. From the art on its walls to the surrounding landscape, the McMichael provides an introduction to Canada’s art, art making and artists.
The McMichael gallery is located in the village of Kleinburg, just minutes north of Toronto. Beyond the signature fieldstone gates, you will find outdoor art, four floors of gallery and program space, including the Library and Archives, and the Gallery Shop – all surrounded by 100 acres of beautiful conservation land which you can explore through a network of paths and trails.
Secure bike parking is available, as well as access to restrooms and areas to rest.
Located a half-block from the banks of the Sydenham River, the Wallaceburg and District Museum (WDM) occupies the former Wallaceburg Hydro building at 505 King Street. The museum was founded by the Wallaceburg Historical Society and has continued under the group’s devoted operation since its official opening on June 29, 1984.
The Museum’s mission is to document, collect, preserve, and research the history of Wallaceburg and its district for the purposes of interpreting this history through education services and exhibits for our contemporary society, and passing intact its material culture to future generations.
The Museum offers tours, education programs and summer camps, frequent special events, and rental opportunities. It also features a multitude of artifacts displayed across numerous exhibits, chronicling Wallaceburg’s history from the arrival of Lord Selkirk’s Baldoon settlers in 1804 to the town’s recent past and the community’s rich industrial heritage. Highlights include our Sports Hall of Fame, the Baldoon Mystery Room, the Lee-Enfield rifle showcase, and an impressive collection of hand-blown glass artifacts, including folk art “whimsies”, on display in our Glass Gallery.
Discover one of the finest examples of an intact historic home in Canada. Three generations of the McQuesten family lived at Whitehern from 1852 until 1968. Among the last generation were six children who never married. In 1959 the three surviving members of the family bequeathed the home to the City with all its original possessions. It contains elements from many time periods – Georgian, Victorian and Edwardian – dating up to 1939 when the Honourable Thomas McQuesten was Minister of Highways. Explore the heritage of Victorian ideas and possessions that influenced life at Whitehern on the eve of W.W. II.
Bike rack located behind City Hall, across the parking lot from Whitehern.