Visit the historic estate of one of Ottawa’s founding families and spend the day enjoying one of our special events or programs, exploring the exhibitions with interactive and kid-friendly activities, or discovering the beauty of our well-preserved parkland. The museum is open during the summer on Wednesdays to Sundays, from 10 am to 5 pm.
The museum’s food service is known for both its quality and affordability. Specializing in refreshments and baked goods made from scratch and served overlooking heritage gardens, our food service is a unique addition to the site. The Tea on the Lawn is served during the summer on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Sundays, from 11 am until 4 pm, rain or shine. Because we use the freshest ingredients possible, it’s best to contact the museum at 613-247-4830 for the daily menu. **Reservations are recommended to avoid disappointment.**
Visitez le domaine historique de l’une des familles fondatrices d’Ottawa et passez une journée à profiter de nos programmes spéciaux, à explorer nos expositions remplies d’activités interactives amusantes pour les enfants et à découvrir la beauté de nos espaces verts bien préservés. Le musée est ouvert pendant l’été les mercredis aux dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h.
Les services alimentaires du domaine sont reconnus à la fois pour leur qualité et leur prix abordable. Ceux-ci se spécialisent dans les rafraîchissements et les pâtisseries maison, servis dans un espace surplombant les jardins patrimoniaux; il s’agit d’une caractéristique unique du site. Le thé sur la pelouse est servi pendant l’été les mercredis, jeudis, vendredis et dimanches de 11 h à 16 h, beau temps, mauvais temps. Puisque nous utilisons les ingrédients les plus frais possible, nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec le musée au 613 247 4830 pour vérifier le menu du jour. **Nous vous invitons également à réserver votre place pour éviter toute déception.**
Unique in the nation’s capital, Cumberland Heritage Village Museum provides an immersive, fun, and educational experience that showcases life in the 1920s and 30s with dozens of heritage and true-to-the-era reproduction buildings – including a working sawmill and blacksmith forge – heritage breed farm animals, people in costume, vintage tractor-pulled wagon rides, and so much more. The museum is open during the summer on Wednesdays to Sundays, from 10 am to 5 pm.
**Please note that admission is required to use the washrooms and drinking water on site.
Le Musée-village du patrimoine de Cumberland offre une occasion unique de vivre une expérience amusante et éducative dans la capitale nationale qui vous plongera dans la vie des années 1920 et 1930. Venez contempler les dizaines d’édifices patrimoniaux et de reproductions représentatives de l’époque, y compris une scierie et une forge qui fonctionnent encore ainsi que les animaux de races patrimoniales, et profitez-en pour rencontrer les personnages costumés, faire des tours de chariots tirés par des tracteurs de l’époque, et bien plus encore. Le musée est ouvert pendant l’été les mercredis aux dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h.
**Veuillez noter que les frais d’admission sont requises afin d’utiliser les salles de bain et l’eau potable.
Fisherville Hotel and Tavern is your country getaway, compete with local cuisine and endless fun activities for you and your family to enjoy. Built as a hotel for travelling salesmen in 1853, Fisherville Hotel & Tavern remains the destination for tourists and travellers alike. Explore our craft beer selection and honest food, or stay overnight to experience history and a small town pace on your country getaway.
Looking to add a bit of heritage and culture to your next ride?
Take a stop off at Fort Malden National Historic Site in Amherstburg, Ontario! We are a bike-friendly attraction, where you can lock up your bike, grab a bottle of water, and enjoy the beautiful natural scenery of the Detroit waterfront, while learning and engaging in our local history. Fort Malden is one of the most important strategic locations of the War of 1812 where witnessed the meeting between Major General Sir Isaac Brock and Shawnee Chief Tecumseh.
See where they joined forces, choosing Fort Malden as their base of operations for the attack on Fort Detroit. Listen as Parks Canada heritage interpreters tell the story of the British troops who later destroyed their fort to prevent it from falling into American hands after a retreat to Burlington. Learn how American forces then occupied the ruins of the fort until 1815 – the longest period of American occupation on Canadian soil. Fort Malden was once an army garrison and British Indian Department post. Experience all it has to offer by taking a guided tour, learning to fire a musket, mortar or cannon, and digging into an 1812-style lunch in the Soldier’s Cookhouse.
One of the most loved homes in Whitby, Lynde House truly has a delightful story to tell visitors. Be transported through time as you enjoy this Georgian gem, lovingly furnished with artifacts from two amalgamated collections, spanning over 200 years of history in Southern Ontario.
Please visit our website for more information on hours and events.
Nestled on the banks of the Ottawa River approximately 40 minutes west of downtown, Pinhey’s Point features a nearly 200-year-old manor house and surrounding ruins. Scenic views, historic buildings, stone ruins and rolling green hills come together to create one of the most spectacular places in Ottawa to relax, learn, and explore. The museum is open in the summer from Wednesdays to Sundays from 10 am to 5 pm. The park is open year-round.
Niché en bordure de la rivière des Outaouais à environ 40 minutes à l’ouest du centre-ville, le Lieu historique de Pinhey’s Point abrite des ruines et un manoir de près de 200 ans. Grâce aux paysages qui l’entourent, à ses bâtiments historiques, à ses ruines de pierres et à ses collines vertes et ondoyantes, le Lieu historique de Pinhey’s Point est l’un des lieux les plus spectaculaires d’Ottawa pour se détendre, apprendre et explorer. Le musée est ouvert en été les mercredis aux dimanches de 10 h à 17 h. Le parc est ouvert à l’année longue.
Welcome to the Shawn & Ed Brewing Company. Our story is forged in friendship and started more than 25 years ago at the McMaster University Campus here in Hamilton, Ontario where two friends shared a dream to one day open a brewery. Flash forward to summer of 2013 at Shawn Till’s annual cottage gathering with fellow friends and McMaster alumni which included his partner in crime, Ed Madronich. With the two of of them sitting by the lake, beers in hand, they knew the time had come to bring their dream to life. Authenticity and quality was as important then as it is now. This meant no short cuts and taking our time to find the perfect location to brew the best possible beer. When the old Dundas Curling and Skating Rink went up for sale, there was no question that they had found the perfect location. What Canadian wouldn’t want to put a brewery inside an old curling and skating rink? This building has a tremendous amount of character and history and our mission was to restore as much of it as possible. We wanted the Shawn & Ed Brewing Company to bring the building’s rich history back to life. With a building this age came a great deal of restoration of the historic landmark that it is and preserving this was so important in keeping with our promise of authenticity and quality. What this whole dream was based on though, was great tasting beer. To that end, we at The Shawn & Ed Brewing Company strive to produce the best possible beer using natural ingredients and brewing with great care and craftsmanship. For us, opening a brewery has not only been a passion project but also the pinnacle of our friendship. We want to share a classic brew that everyone can enjoy with their a friends; a beer that’s Forged in Friendship. -Shawn & Ed
The Captain’s House is an historic mansion in the heart of Midland on Georgian Bay, Ontario. Original art and antiques grace every room. The gourmet breakfasts are legendary. Winner of the Town of Midland Heritage Merit Award in 2014. Rated 9/10 “excellent” by Booking.com
Waterloo Central Railway runs a Historic Train connecting Waterloo and Elmira, travelling through the Mennonite countryside of Waterloo Region. They run their Farmer’s Market Trains 3 times a day at 10am, 12pm, and 2pm on Thursdays & Saturdays from April to October. They provide stops on Northfield Drive in Waterloo, at the Farmer’s Market, in the Village of St. Jacobs, and in the Town of Elmira. There are many hop on hop off options to experience including Rail N Ale, Train & High Tea, Train & Kitchen Kuttings Tastings, and many more! They also run THE POLAR EXPRESS™ Train Rides & Santa Trains in November & December! Experience history brought to life with a memorable ride at Waterloo Central Railway!