MOORE MUSEUM www.mooremuseum.ca Our 12 building historic village engages you in discovering the life and work of past generations. Your heritage journey includes a one-room schoolhouse, log cabin, Victorian cottage, wooden caboose, historic church and more. Popular new features are our early 20th century general store and Lionel model train exhibit room. Self-guiding tour booklets for both adults and children and hands-on activity centres involve all ages in exploring the past. Ramp access and paved walkways make our site accessible and a picnic area invites you to linger. bike rack available and bottled water for sale. Open March & April, 9 am to 4 pm, Mon. through Fri.; May to August, 11 am to 5 pm, Fri. through Tues.; Sept. to mid-Dec., 9 am to 4 pm, Mon. through Fri. (Closed Easter weekend, Victoria Day, Labour Day, Thanksgiving and Remembrance Day). 94 Moore Line in Mooretown. 519-867-2020.
Located in the Museum of Industrial Technology, the Delta Mill Society hosts a tourist information centre for the Township of Rideau Lakes and the surrounding area. The museum is part of the Old Stone Mill National Historic Site complex, owned and operated by the Delta Mill Society. Open daily Victoria Day weekend through Labour Day, 10am to 5pm, other times by appointment. Public washroom on site.
Museums of Burlington: Joseph Brant Museum and Ireland House at Oakridge Farm are two of Burlington’s learning environments. Both sites represent the history of Burlington in unique and exciting settings. Open: Tuesday – Friday: 10:00 am – 4:30 pm/Sunday: 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm. Last tour leaves at 4:00 pm. Admission: Adults, $4.50, Seniors & Students $4.00, Children (5-12 yrs) $2.25 Prices include HST. Joseph Brant Museum: Built between 1937-1938 as a replica of the original home of Captain Joseph Brant, Thayendanegea, one of Burlington’s earliest settlers and an important figure in Canadian history, the Joseph Brant Museum is Burlington’s community museum. Through guided tours, changing exhibits, interactive displays, a hands-on discovery room, a new community gallery, educational programming, and special events, Joseph Brant Museum tells the stories relating to the development of the Burlington area complimented by travelling exhibitions that enrich the museum’s dialogue with the community. Ireland House Built between 1835-1837, Ireland House at Oakridge Farm was the home of Joseph Ireland, an English Immigrant and one of Burlington’s earliest settlers. In 1987 the home became a museum and the historic farmstead, now resting on 4.5 acres of original farmland, with its buildings, yards, gardens, and contents is interpreted to three distinct time periods, representing the generations of Ireland family who lived in the house. Visitors enjoy tours of the house by costumed interpreters, exhibits, special events, and participatory activities in keeping with the character and history of the House and the Ireland family.
Explore the history of the famous city in a beautifully renovated and expanded building by Moriyama and Teshima Architects. There are three large gallery spaces, gift shop, theatre/multi-purpose room, and research room all fully accessible. -Gale Family War of 1812 Gallery- A gallery dedicated to the history of the War of 1812 and the impact of the War on the citizens of Niagara Falls. Visitors will explore the history that changed a nation in vivid colour; with images, artifacts, videos and hands-on experiences meant to put you in the action. -Niagara Falls Community Gallery- Visitors will be immersed in the history of the City, from geological creation of our famous landmark to the daredevils and the stories of the people who made our city. Three interactive stations in this gallery allow visitors young and old to touch Mother Nature, span the gorge and become a daredevil.
“Unquestionably the best building of the kind in Upper Canada” – Statistical Account of Upper Canada, 1817 The Old Stone Mill, the only stone gristmill in Canada designated a National Historic Site, is one of the oldest surviving automatic gristmills in Ontario. Owned and operated by the Delta Mill Society, a non-profit and charitable organization, the Old Stone Mill National Historic Site features interactive exhibits, programs and guided tours that explore the rich history and technology of this 1810 stone landmark. Open daily between Victoria Day weekend and Labour Day, 10 am to 5pm. Other times by appointment. Located on the Rideau Heritage Route.
Heritage House Museum is the municipal museum for the Town of Smiths Falls, with Victorian period rooms, changing exhibitions, gift store and grounds. In the early 1850’s the lure of plenty of water power and the promise of railway development attracted Joshua Bates, founder of nearby Farmersville (now Athens), to a site beside the roaring waters of Old Sly’s Rapids on the Rideau Canal. Bates built two mills on property leased from the Crown and promoted the development of the Brockville and Ottawa Railway Company. After suffering considerable losses in his milling operations and investing heavily in the now bankrupt railway company, he began construction of his large frame house in 1861. Despite his optimism for the future, fate did not allow Joshua Bates to recoup his fortune or to enjoy his new home. He died in debt on January 1st, 1864. Ironically, his home and mills were acquired by his competitor Truman R. Ward, eldest son of Abel Russell Ward, a founding father of Smiths Falls. After many years of neglect, the Corporation of the Town of Smiths Falls purchased the once dignified country estate from the Gleeson family in 1977 for use as a museum. Today the lifestyles of Joshua and Tamson Bates and Truman and Anabella Ward are depicted in the classically styled home where both families once lived. Heritage House Museum functions as a historic house depicting upper middle class life circa 1865-1875 and as a local museum featuring a permanent collection of Smiths Falls artifacts, traveling exhibits and art shows.
Located a half-block from the banks of the Sydenham River, the Wallaceburg and District Museum (WDM) occupies the former Wallaceburg Hydro building at 505 King Street. The museum was founded by the Wallaceburg Historical Society and has continued under the group’s devoted operation since its official opening on June 29, 1984.
The Museum’s mission is to document, collect, preserve, and research the history of Wallaceburg and its district for the purposes of interpreting this history through education services and exhibits for our contemporary society, and passing intact its material culture to future generations.
The Museum offers tours, education programs and summer camps, frequent special events, and rental opportunities. It also features a multitude of artifacts displayed across numerous exhibits, chronicling Wallaceburg’s history from the arrival of Lord Selkirk’s Baldoon settlers in 1804 to the town’s recent past and the community’s rich industrial heritage. Highlights include our Sports Hall of Fame, the Baldoon Mystery Room, the Lee-Enfield rifle showcase, and an impressive collection of hand-blown glass artifacts, including folk art “whimsies”, on display in our Glass Gallery.
Waterloo Central Railway runs a Historic Train connecting Waterloo and Elmira, travelling through the Mennonite countryside of Waterloo Region. They run their Farmer’s Market Trains 3 times a day at 10am, 12pm, and 2pm on Thursdays & Saturdays from April to October. They provide stops on Northfield Drive in Waterloo, at the Farmer’s Market, in the Village of St. Jacobs, and in the Town of Elmira. There are many hop on hop off options to experience including Rail N Ale, Train & High Tea, Train & Kitchen Kuttings Tastings, and many more! They also run THE POLAR EXPRESS™ Train Rides & Santa Trains in November & December! Experience history brought to life with a memorable ride at Waterloo Central Railway!
The Museum was created in 1968 by the Willoughby Historical Society as an expression of pride felt by the community. The Museum, located in the former School Section #2 – Willoughby building, is now run by the City of Niagara Falls. The former Township of Willoughby and Village of Chippawa are both interpreted by the Museum as well as an extensive collection reflecting rural life in Niagara Falls and the Battle of Chippawa. Stop in over the summer months and check out annual events such as Country Fair and Philosopher’s Cafe.
The museum is dedicated to preserving the history of rural education, the heritage of the surrounding community, and the memory of poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald. Step into a classroom of 1925… when the Union Jack waved over the schoolhouse… classes started with “God Save the King”… and penmanship was practiced using straight pens and black ink. Lyric poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald (1880 – 1967) was born in nearby Cheapside and published works, including “Out of the Wilderness”, and a “Flagon of Beauty.”