Our museum tells the story of Gananoque’s varied history, from glaciers and muskies to pirates and picnickers! Experience 10,000 years of 1000 Islands history, including exhibits on the: 1000 Islands ecosystem, Indigenous heritage, early settlers, military leaders, and the rich and famous of the Golden Era. Discover the place where past meets present, and relax on our waterfront veranda or browse our unique gift shop.
Situated in an historic Thomas Fuller Post Office, the museum is a cornucopia of artefacts and information about Arnprior and the surrounding area. Exhibits about the logging industry, the visit of the Prince of Wales in 1860 and the railway makes this a must see for all cyclists. We’re close to restaurants and the beach which makes this an ideal destination. In 2013 we are celebrating the 400th anniversary of Champlain’s travels up the Ottawa River and we are fortunate to have Champlain’s astrolabe on exhibit.
The Backus-Page House Museum is located within the grounds of the John E. Pearce Provincial Park, situated within a restored Georgian style house which was constructed in 1850. It is one of the first brick homes built in what would eventually become Dunwich Township. The house was commissioned by Andrew and Mary Jane Backus. The Backus family was one of several families that had obtained land from Colonel Thomas Talbot and settled in the area which quickly came to be known as Little Ireland (a namesake due to the Irish ancestry of the settlers). The property that Andrew built his house on was given to him by his grandmother, Mary Storey, who received her original land grant in 1809. Upon the death of Andrew Backus in 1865 the estate along with what remained of the original land grant allotted to Mary Storey was bequeathed to his son, Andrew Storey Backus. Andrew Storey Backus sold the northern portion of that bequest, where in the house was located, to Robert Kennedy of Leskinfere Gorey, Co. Wexford, Ireland. Mr. Kennedy only owned the property 2 or 3 years before he returned to Ireland. The Backus-Page House and property was obtained by Jonas Page in 1925. The Page family had settled in the area in 1845 and maintained property further up Lakeview Line. Members of the Page family resided on the estate and farmed the property for over 40 years. The house underwent a number of physical changes as it aged, moving it away from its original 1850’s state. Morley and Grace Page were the last of the Pages to live on the farm and they sold it to the Ministry of Natural Resources in 1968. The Ministry of Natural Resources currently retains ownership of the Backus-Page House. The Ministry has entered into a lease agreement with the Tyrconnell Heritage Society. The society was incorporated in 1994 with the express purpose of restoring the house and property to its 1850’s condition. In 1998 the society undertook a restoration of the property, renamed the house in tribute to both its longtime owners and undertook a mandate of preservation and historical education regarding the estate and the Talbot Settlement in general.
Visit this early 19th century homestead once home to the Gage family. The Gages worked the land with their ten children and became a strong voice in the hamlet of Stoney Creek. During the War of 1812, the family retreated to their cellar as the Battle of Stoney Creek raged outside. The 100-foot-high Battlefield Monument stands as a symbol of peace and commemorates those soldiers who died on June 6, 1813. Nestled under the scenic Niagara Escarpment, this historic site encompasses 32 acres of parkland divided by Battlefield Creek.
Old stone jail, settler’s log house and working man’s Victorian brick house portray settlers’ life circa 1850-1900. Monthly meetings, History Circle and so much more.
Visit the historic estate of one of Ottawa’s founding families and spend the day enjoying one of our special events or programs, exploring the exhibitions with interactive and kid-friendly activities, or discovering the beauty of our well-preserved parkland. The museum is open during the summer on Wednesdays to Sundays, from 10 am to 5 pm.
The museum’s food service is known for both its quality and affordability. Specializing in refreshments and baked goods made from scratch and served overlooking heritage gardens, our food service is a unique addition to the site. The Tea on the Lawn is served during the summer on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Sundays, from 11 am until 4 pm, rain or shine. Because we use the freshest ingredients possible, it’s best to contact the museum at 613-247-4830 for the daily menu. **Reservations are recommended to avoid disappointment.**
Visitez le domaine historique de l’une des familles fondatrices d’Ottawa et passez une journée à profiter de nos programmes spéciaux, à explorer nos expositions remplies d’activités interactives amusantes pour les enfants et à découvrir la beauté de nos espaces verts bien préservés. Le musée est ouvert pendant l’été les mercredis aux dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h.
Les services alimentaires du domaine sont reconnus à la fois pour leur qualité et leur prix abordable. Ceux-ci se spécialisent dans les rafraîchissements et les pâtisseries maison, servis dans un espace surplombant les jardins patrimoniaux; il s’agit d’une caractéristique unique du site. Le thé sur la pelouse est servi pendant l’été les mercredis, jeudis, vendredis et dimanches de 11 h à 16 h, beau temps, mauvais temps. Puisque nous utilisons les ingrédients les plus frais possible, nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec le musée au 613 247 4830 pour vérifier le menu du jour. **Nous vous invitons également à réserver votre place pour éviter toute déception.**
The Chatham-Kent Black Historical Society is the home of the Black Mecca Museum. Telling the story of Black Family experiences in Chatham-Kent from the Underground Railroad to Modern Times.
The Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts is located in Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada. It houses a 480-seat Festival Performance Hall and the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame. The Stockey Centre sits on a 3.5-acre waterfront site overlooking beautiful Georgian Bay. The building opened in July 2003 and runs year-round, presenting artists of excellence and celebrating athletes of excellence. The Bobby Orr Hall of Fame is an interactive hockey museum with a wide variety of photos, memorabilia and artifacts about Bobby Orr, who was born in Parry Sound. Exhibits include Orr’s NHL rings, a number of his trophies and awards, some of the jerseys he played in, a pictorial history of his career and a number of interactive games and activities related to hockey. The Bobby Orr Hall of Fame also hosts exhibits about other exceptional athletes with ties to Parry Sound. The Festival Performance Hall is constructed out of the area’s natural stone and indigenous trees. It has stunning acoustics as it was designed as a home for the Festival of the Sound, a world renowned festival of chamber and classical music which runs from mid-July to mid-August each year. Performances of all genres are presented in the Performance Hall during the rest of the year including music of all types (pop, rock, folk, blues, jazz, country, chamber, classical and world music), theatre, contemporary dance, comedy, literary readings, performances for children and community events. The Gift Shop is located in the Lobby and features a unique line of souvenirs from both the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame and the Festival Performance Hall.
– Explore local history with a tour of the restored 1850s Pennsylvania German Mennonite farmhouse and four square garden.
– Learn from knowledgeable tour guides about the life of a Pennsylvania German Mennonite family during the mid-nineteenth century
– Watch a video depicting the history of Mennonites in Waterloo County
Where Imagination is Timeless! Visit the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre to explore the long and proud history of the County beginning in the First Nations gallery, through pioneer times to present day. Journey through thousands of years of natural and human history; come face-to-face with a baby mammoth, meet the shopkeeper while exploring Bevan’s General Store, or play in our technology lab. Explore the rich marine history of Bruce County’s lighthouses, shipwrecks and fishing industry; board HMS General Hunter, an 1812 battleship replica, where an exciting virtual experience awaits as you shoot the cannon to defeat the enemy. Step into the trenches of WWI and follow the life of a Bruce County soldier through the war. Discover all this and more!
Callander Bay Heritage Museum & Alex Dufresne Gallery celebrate Callander’s rich cultural heritage and host several art exhibitions every year, all in the house and practice of the former doctor to the Dionne Quintuplets, Dr Allan Roy Dafoe. Our eight-rooms feature items related to the sisters and Dr. Dafoe’s medical practice, and explore the town’s shipping and logging history. Also included in the collection are hockey jerseys belonging to Philadelphia Flyer’s Bill Barber and a turn-of-the-century barber shop. The adjacent Alex Dufresne Gallery shares the same entrance as the museum, and hosts several exhibitions every year featuring local artists.
A unique family learning adventure awaits you! This fresh-air experience will awaken your senses as you discover the fascinating world of agriculture. Canada’s unique agricultural heritage and future is featured at the Museum. Explore the sights and sounds of farm life through animals, exhibitions, treasures from the collection, hands-on demonstrations, and delicious foods. The Museum is located on the Central Experimental Farm, a 425-hectare crop research station and National Historic Site. Visit the animal barns and explore the captivating exhibitions. With a pinch of history and a dash of myth busting, the newest exhibition Food Preservation: The Science You Eat highlights the role science plays in delaying food decay and keeping food nutritious and safe from farm to fork. See renewable energy in action in the Museum’s exhibition Energy Park: Nature at Work, try to spot the queen bee in the live observation hive in Taking Care of Beesness, and explore Tractors, where you can even climb inside a farmer’s “office in the field.”
Canada’s rich military history is showcased through artifacts, personal stories, artwork, photos and interactive presentations. Tour the extensive permanent exhibitions and expand your knowledge of the conflicts that shaped Canada, Canadians and the world. Rest and reflect in Memorial Hall. Discover the Museum’s fascinating architectural theme. And chat with a veteran to let history come alive.
Erected in 1872, this heritage designated building served the community of Carleton Place as the Town Hall and lock-up until 1879, and as Victoria School for 90 years until 1969. The museum is run by the Carleton Place and Beckwith Historical Society with assistance from hte Town of Carleton pLace and the Township of Beckwith.
Opening as the Victoria School Museum in 1985, the name was changed in 2011 to relfect the scope of its collection and its audience.