Heritage House Museum is the municipal museum for the Town of Smiths Falls, with Victorian period rooms, changing exhibitions, gift store and grounds. In the early 1850’s the lure of plenty of water power and the promise of railway development attracted Joshua Bates, founder of nearby Farmersville (now Athens), to a site beside the roaring waters of Old Sly’s Rapids on the Rideau Canal. Bates built two mills on property leased from the Crown and promoted the development of the Brockville and Ottawa Railway Company. After suffering considerable losses in his milling operations and investing heavily in the now bankrupt railway company, he began construction of his large frame house in 1861. Despite his optimism for the future, fate did not allow Joshua Bates to recoup his fortune or to enjoy his new home. He died in debt on January 1st, 1864. Ironically, his home and mills were acquired by his competitor Truman R. Ward, eldest son of Abel Russell Ward, a founding father of Smiths Falls. After many years of neglect, the Corporation of the Town of Smiths Falls purchased the once dignified country estate from the Gleeson family in 1977 for use as a museum. Today the lifestyles of Joshua and Tamson Bates and Truman and Anabella Ward are depicted in the classically styled home where both families once lived. Heritage House Museum functions as a historic house depicting upper middle class life circa 1865-1875 and as a local museum featuring a permanent collection of Smiths Falls artifacts, traveling exhibits and art shows.
The Tourism Brantford Information Services welcomes visitors to the City of Brantford. Our friendly staff and accessible facility offer travelers information services for our area and beyond, whether you are looking for trip ideas, directions, souvenirs, washrooms, or a family-friendly rest area.
Town of Oakville 1225 Trafalgar Road Oakville, ON L6H 0H3 www.oakville.ca firstname.lastname@example.org tel: 905-845-6601 TTY: 905-338-4200 Open 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on regular business days. Amenities on site include sheltered bike racks, tourist information, cycling maps, washrooms, first aid, bicycle repair kit, and a cafeteria.
Located a half-block from the banks of the Sydenham River, the Wallaceburg and District Museum (WDM) occupies the former Wallaceburg Hydro building at 505 King Street. The museum was founded by the Wallaceburg Historical Society and has continued under the group’s devoted operation since its official opening on June 29, 1984.
The Museum’s mission is to document, collect, preserve, and research the history of Wallaceburg and its district for the purposes of interpreting this history through education services and exhibits for our contemporary society, and passing intact its material culture to future generations.
The Museum offers tours, education programs and summer camps, frequent special events, and rental opportunities. It also features a multitude of artifacts displayed across numerous exhibits, chronicling Wallaceburg’s history from the arrival of Lord Selkirk’s Baldoon settlers in 1804 to the town’s recent past and the community’s rich industrial heritage. Highlights include our Sports Hall of Fame, the Baldoon Mystery Room, the Lee-Enfield rifle showcase, and an impressive collection of hand-blown glass artifacts, including folk art “whimsies”, on display in our Glass Gallery.