Wallaceburg and District Museum
Located a half-block from the banks of the Sydenham River, the Wallaceburg and District Museum (WDM) occupies the former Wallaceburg Hydro building at 505 King Street. The museum was founded by the Wallaceburg Historical Society and has continued under the group’s devoted operation since its official opening on June 29, 1984.
The Museum’s mission is to document, collect, preserve, and research the history of Wallaceburg and its district for the purposes of interpreting this history through education services and exhibits for our contemporary society, and passing intact its material culture to future generations.
The Museum offers tours, education programs and summer camps, frequent special events, and rental opportunities. It also features a multitude of artifacts displayed across numerous exhibits, chronicling Wallaceburg’s history from the arrival of Lord Selkirk’s Baldoon settlers in 1804 to the town’s recent past and the community’s rich industrial heritage. Highlights include our Sports Hall of Fame, the Baldoon Mystery Room, the Lee-Enfield rifle showcase, and an impressive collection of hand-blown glass artifacts, including folk art “whimsies”, on display in our Glass Gallery.